Up Close & Personal with Owen Brooks

Owen 1

Find Me on Air: 7-10pm alternate Thursdays

First Job: Paperboy (well, didn't we all). Actually, Sainsbury's, and I am still there nearly 19 years later.

Favourite Music: Songs from the musicals

Favourite Food: Pork Pie

Favourite Drink: Coca Cola.

Owen 2

Star Sign: Libra.

Who is the most famous person you’ve ever met?

Su Pollard, Tracy-Anne Oberman, Michael Beckley (having previously
interviewed them all for HFM).

Favourite Holiday Destination: South Wales (Monmouthshire).

Favourite  Film: Dead Poet's Society

Best Thing about Working at HFM:
Team Atmosphere and getting to play loads of great music that I, and my listeners, choose.

Fascinating Fact about Me:
Went to see my first London show on my own at age 12. Unbeknown to me, my parents had asked some ladies on the trip to keep an eye on me. They took me for tea at The Ritz!!!

Your Favourite Pass Time / Hobby: Supporting the local Youth Theatre. Also
any excuse to go the theatre to see a show ( locally or in the West End of
London ).

Most embarrassing (NOT RUDE!) Moment: During my countless years at
Sainsbury's, I have had to climb ladders, bend down to shelving or under checkouts to do stuff. I have, on a couple of ocassions, split my trousers in the process.

What made you want to get a job in the radio industry:

I came into the studios with The Youth Theatre to talk about their shows.
The cast members did all the talking, so I got to see what the presenters
were doing, so I thought i'd put my name to give it a go. The rest, as
they say, is history.